Hide & Seek

I feel like I’m playing hide and seek
Where I’m hiding behind a mask that’s covered in glitter and worthless gems trying to seek this definition of beauty that just has too many boundaries
That limits me to mascara, lipstick and shallow conversations
Where I have to bite my tongue, force a smile with all these crazy limitations
Where every time I speak my mind I just end up in these sticky situations
Where I live in a country where freedom has just too many complications
Where the society has manipulated the definition of liberation
Where the girls bleach their skin to look a little more Caucasian
and boys think they’re men, roll their spliffs and blow away their aspirations
In a World where revolutionaries lack determination
And where extremists brainwash kids in the name of a Muslim nation
Where people’s hearts bleed like havisham, with no great expectations
Where Romeo and Juliet is considered a love story and not a tragedy
And rapists blame girls for dressing too suggestively
Where the new generation has amnesia to the meaning of family
And feminists are more concerned about women who can’t wear mini skirts than women who are abused domestically
Where demons disguise themselves in suits and preach about change
As their eyes glow with gluttony
In a world where people no longer make love
Just f*ck
And if she’s been touched she’s damaged goods
Treated like worn underwear in a lingerie shop
I live in a world where boys wear living in the hood as a medal around their neck
Not trying to escape it but chase it
And I’m tired of playing hide and seek
I’m tired of hiding behind this mask pretending it’s all okay
But it seems my seeker got lost in a maze
Stuck in a trance, stuck in a daze
Can you tell him to snap out of it cause this glitter is starting to wear off
And these gems are starting to fall off
And I think it’s time to be found

Leave a comment